New Scientific Director of TKI Dinalog: Niels Agatz

TKI Dinalog appoints a new Scientific Director as of 1 July 2022

Dr. Niels Agatz has been appointed as thew new Scientific Director of TKI Dinalog as of 1 July 2022. He is the successor to Albert Veenstra, who was the Scientific Director from October 2014.

The Chairman of the Board of TKI Dinalog Robert van der Waal: “With his extensive experience in the logistics sector he will make an important contribution to scientific research and innovation capability in that sector. We look forward to cooperating with Niels.”

At the moment, he is associate professor Last-Mile Supply Chain Operations at Rotterdam School of Management, Erasmus University Rotterdam. Until recently he was the scientific director of the MSc programme in Supply Chain Management. Earlier, Niels worked at the School of Industrial Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and the department of Transport and Logistics Engineering of the Catholic University of Chile.

His research has focused on developing quantative models and optimisation methodologies for sustainable last mile logistics systems. He publishes regularly in leading scientific magazines. Additionally he is an editor for international magazines and active in (inter)national conferences.

Niels Agatz: “As Scientific Director of TKI Dinalog I aspire to further strengthen research in the field of logistics and supply chain management in the Netherlands. I consider it to be an honour to work with this group of enthusiastic professionals in this dynamic and very relevant area of expertise.”

Niels enjoys cooperating with private sector companies and will work with the exisiting team of TKI Dinalog to realise the objectives of the Topsector Logistics and the Missiondriven Top Sector and Innovation Policy. Next to his work as Scientific Director of TKI Dinalog, dr. Agatz will continue to work at Erasmus University Rotterdam. He and Bas van Bree will form the Board of TKI Dinalog. Bas has been Interim Director since 1 January this year and will become the Operational Director of our organisation.

Be the first to comment